Partnership on Sustainable Low Carbon Transport

E-newsletter Sign-up

Webinar: National decarbonisation strategies in the transport sector: the example of Germany (Monday, May 8)

May 8, 2017
Online

Event website: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/6672479054244264705

Organized By

We cordially invite you to join the first webinar in 2017 about national decarbonisation strategies in the transport sector on Monday, May 8!

With the historical climate agreement in Paris the international community set itself an ambitious target for climate protection. To reduce global warming well below 2 degrees Celsius above the pre-industrial level, decarbonisation is the key issue that will define the debate over the future of the world’s energy and transport systems. Germany has the responsibility – like all other countries – to significantly cut greenhouse gas emissions. Many countries have already set ambitious targets and identified action areas for emission reductions in the transport sector within their Nationally Determined Contributions (NDCs).

In this webinar Christian Hochfeld, Director of Agora Verkehrswende, provides a detailed insight into the decarbonisation strategy of Germany’s transport sector and the intention behind Agora Verkehrswende – Transforming Transportation. The initiative is a division of the non-profit organisation Smart Energy for Europe Platform (SEFEP) gGmbH. Its shareholders are Stiftung Mercator and the European Climate Foundation.

Dr. Tania Rödiger-Vorwerk, Deputy Director General for Environment & Infrastructure at BMZ, has launched the Transformative Urban Mobility Initiative (TUMI) at the UN Habitat III Conference in Quito, Ecuador in October 2016. She will reflect the necessity for a global transformation of the transport sector and how the German development cooperation plans to empower particularly local stakeholders in our partner countries.

Monday, May 8, 2017

07:00 – 08:00 Mexico City, Bogota (UTC-5)

09:00 – 10:00 Rio de Janeiro (UTC-3)

12:00 – 13:00 Windhoek (UTC+1)

13:00 – 14:00 Berlin (UTC +2)

14:00 – 15:00 Kyiv, Addis Ababa (UTC+3)

18:00 – 19:00 Bangkok (UTC+7)

19:00 – 20:00 Beijing, Shanghai, Manila (UTC+8)

If you wish to participate, please register here

Partnership on Sustainable Low Carbon Transport
Contact us
©2014 SLoCaT. All Rights Reserved - Terms of Service
The SLoCaT website was developed
with support from ITDP and is hosted by GIZ- SUTP
Website designed and developed by: Design Muscle, Inc.