Board of Directors


As stipulated in SLOCAT governance rules, the Board of Directors consists of 13 seats: 5 seats issued from the membership, 4 issued from the supporters of the SLOCAT Foundation and 4 filled by independent members. They are elected for a 3-year mandate and are re-eligible once. For the 2019-2022 mandate, elections were overseen by the stipulated Independent Election Committee and completed in July 2019. Chair and Treasurer were elected among Board member peers in October 2019 and the appointment of Independent Members was completed by end 2019.


This gender-, geographical- and background-balanced 2019-2022 Board of Directors brings together an extraordinary wealth of expertise across the transport and mobility, energy, climate and cities sectors. The Board supports, oversees and advances the work of the Partnership in the next three years, overlapping with the period for this first-ever multi-annual Strategic Development Plan.


Bronwen Thornton
Chief Executive Officer


Mohamed Mezghani
Secretary General
International Association
Public Transport

Rana Adib
Executive Director

Atiq Ahmad 

Global Lead, Transport Sector Practice
Islamic Development Bank

Sergio Avelleda
Director of Urban Mobility
World Resources Institute
Ross Center for Sustainable Cities

François Davenne
Director General
International Union of Railways

Aimée Gauthier
Chief Knowledge Officer
Institute for Transportation and Development Policy

Gino Van Begin
Secretary General
ICLEI – Local Governments for Sustainability

Armin Wagner
Senior Advisor, Sustainable Mobility
Section “Energy and Transport”

Independent Board Members

Glynda Bathan
Deputy Executive Director
Clean Air Asia

Winnie Mitullah
Director of Institute for
Development Studies
Nairobi University

Shipra Narang-Suri
Coordinator of Urban Planning
and Design Branch

Kalpana Viswanath
Co-Founder and CEO