Transport Data for Development -
Starter Data Kits by the Climate Compatible Growth Programme


SLOCAT is collaborating with the Climate Compatible Growth (CCG) programme to bridge the gap between data and decision making by providing free, open-access transport data. To that aim, SLOCAT is contributing transport data to the Transport Starter Data Kits; synthesising available data on passenger and freight activity, energy intensity, load factors and vehicle fleets for 10 Asian, 50 African and 2 Latin American countries or regions*.


Transport Starter Data Kits

Transport Starter Data Kits support the development of national decarbonisation strategies by providing information on transport activity and vehicle fleets. They are therefore an important starting point to model an adequate set of climate actions and investment plans. The wider intention of the Transport Starter Data Kits is to provide data that can be included in the Model for Analysis of Energy Demand (MAED)  by the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) and the Open Source Energy Modelling System (OSeMOSYS). MAED is an open-source tool evaluating future energy demands based on medium- to long-term scenarios of socioeconomic, technological and demographic development. Transport is one of the end-use categories to identify the future energy demand growth. Similarly, OSeMOSYS is an open source modelling system for long-run integrated assessment and energy planning. It has the ability to develop energy systems models focused on detailed power representations and/or transport systems.

You can access the Transport Starter Data Kits here.

*The countries and regions covered:
  • Africa: Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Benin, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Côte d’Ivoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Republic of Congo, Rwanda, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.
  • Asia: Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Taiwan (Province of China), Thailand and Viet Nam
  • Latin America: Brazil and Colombia