SLoCaT Partnership Welcomes New Board of Directors

Two years after its establishment the SLoCaT Partnership welcomes a new Board of Directors. The new Board, which consists of 13 persons includes 5 of the initial Board members, 4 newly elected Board members and 4 appointed, independent Board members.  With the incoming new Board, the SLoCaT Board also welcomes the two new co-Chairs Amy Kenyon of Ford Foundation and Holger Dalkman from the World Resources Institute Ross Center for Sustainable Cities. 

The SLoCaT Partnership has shown great success in bringing sustainable transport into the mainstream of global climate and sustainable development policy,” said New York City’s Deputy Transportation Commissioner for Policy, Michael Replogle, who stepped down as the SLoCaT Partnership’s first Chairman. “I expect the effectiveness of the partnership to grow as Amy Kenyon of the Ford Foundation and Holger Dalkmann of World Resources Institute/EMBARQ step up to leadership as the Foundation’s Co-Chairs. Amy and Holger and the SLoCaT Foundation’s newly elected and appointed independent Board members will help strengthen the partnership’s diversity and depth in multiple dimensions.” Michael added, “I have been honored since we started SLoCaT in 2009 to have worked with so many committed individuals who have been part of this long campaign to reshape global institutions and processes that shape the environment for the world’s transport sector; I am sorry I cannot thank them all. We’ve gotten so much done together. I offer special thanks and congratulations to the most tireless and creative campaigner, Cornie Huizenga, SLoCaT’s Secretary General, without whom much of our success would not have been possible. I look forward to working for years to come with many of you in new roles and to witnessing SLoCaT’s continued progress. 

Amy Kenyon, who represents the Ford Foundation in the SLoCaT Board says: “I am honored to serve as Board co-chair for the SLoCaT Partnership, and look forward to working closely with Holger and the SLoCaT Secretariat. Sustainable transport will be essential in achieving global goals, and SLoCaT brings stakeholders together to advance an ambitious vision of human development and sustainability. The expanded incoming Board represents SLoCaT’s values of partnership and inclusion across multiple sectors and disciplines.  

Holger Dalkmann of the World Resource Institute/EMBARQ says: I am honored to be elected Co-Chair of the Board, and look forward to strengthening the partnership between WRI and SLoCaT through my service. SLoCaT plays a critical role in promoting sustainable transport through global processes like COP, the Sustainable Development Goals and Habitat. Turning global commitments into action and creating transformative momentum will require the participation of independent initiatives like SLoCaT. I am grateful for the opportunity to serve in this new role and help make this vision a reality”. 

“The SLoCaT Secretariat is excited to work with the new Board” says Cornie Huizenga, the Secretary General of the SLoCaT Partnership. “The new Board shows great diversity with 8 of the Board positions now being taken up by women and with greater representation from the global South in the new Board. This is an important step towards ensuring that the activities of the SLoCaT Partnership reflect the diverse reality on the ground”.

The new composition of the full-SLoCaT Board is:

  • Holger Dalkmann, Director, Strategy And Global Policy, EMBARQ, WRI Ross Center for Sustainable Cities (Co-Chair)
  • Amy Kenyon, Program Officer, Equitable Development, Ford Foundation (Co-Chair)
  • Alain Flausch, Secretary General, International Association of Public Transport (UITP) (Treasurer)
  • Katia Araujo, Director of ProgramsHuairou Commission
  • Manfred Breithaupt, Senior Transport Advisor at Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ)
  • Jorge H. Kogan, Senior Advisor to the Vice President of Infrastructure, Development Bank of Latin America (CAF)
  • Rima le Coguic, Head of Sustainable Energy, Telecom and Transport Division at the Agence Française de Développement (AFD)
  • Clarisse Cunha Linke, Country Director, Institute for Transportation and Development Policy(ITDP) Brazil
  • Winnie Mitullah, Director of the Institute for Development Studies (IDS) and Associate Research Professor, University of Nairobi  
  • Margarita Parra, Program Officer, The William and Flora Hewlett Foundation
  • Sanjivi Sundar, Distinguished Fellow, The Energy and Resources Institute (TERI)
  • Bronwen Thornton, Development Director, Walk 21
  • Geetam Tiwari,  TRIPP Chair Professor at the Department of Civil Engineering of the Indian Institute of Technology, New Delhi

Please click here for detailed information on the background and experience of our new board members.